About the Post

Author Information

Wendy is an IFE Agent responsible for aggregating airline news specifically related to Inflight entertainment. She compiles stories relevant to business travelers, airline industry folks, marketers and tech geeks. IFE News doesn't create original content, but rather posts compelling editorial from global media outlets.

When Will Personal Tech Kill In-Flight Entertainment?

By Adam Turner

QANTAS’ A380 fleet supposedly has an impressive in-flight entertainment system, but give me a power socket and I’ll do the rest.

I’m looking forward to my upcoming trip to New York, but I’m not looking forward to the 13 hour flight from Sydney to LAX. Thankfully as a gadget-lover I’ll have no shortage of entertainment devices on the plane including a notebook, two smartphones, an iPod shuffle and a Kindle.

I’ve got them loaded up with enough movies, music and reading material to get me around the world several times. I’ve had plenty of practice keeping my family entertained on long flights to far north Queensland and back. Thankfully on the A380 I’ve got access to a power socket at my seat, but I’ll still have everything charged up and a portable gadget charger on hand just in case.

I was explaining all this to a friend who asked “but don’t they have a great in-flight entertainment system on the A380”? To be honest I hadn’t even thought about it. When I can take the movies and music that I’m interested in, why would I want to bother with the in-flight system. Now that I’ve checked the QANTAS website I can see a list of the movies that will be screening and to be honest I’m not all that impressed.

Once you’ve got a power point at your disposal, I’m starting to wonder why anyone would bother with the in-flight entertainment system. I guess it’s a selling point for airlines in a competitive market, but as tablets and small notebooks become more popular I expect there will be less demand for airlines to provide in-flight entertainment options. With the personal tech revolution ushering in the age of Bring Your Own Entertainment, I think I’d rather watch what I want to watch, when I want to watch it.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

